Poet At large Reviews, Restaurant, Provo Marriott Hotel and Convention Center Restaurant, ‘Slate’   1 comment

During this last week I attended Life The Universe and Everything 31 at the Provo Marriott Hotel and Convention Center in Provo, Utah.  On Saturday evening between panels my husband and I decided to have dinner at the in house restaurant ‘Slate’.  I can honestly say it was one of the best restaurant experiences I have ever had.  I have terrible food allergies.  If it’s spicy on the tong it’s deadly to me.  This means that everything I order has to be a special order.  Some restaurants will just not take the time to prepare my order safely or correctly.

After being seated and telling the manager my problem the chef came out to my table and talked about what seasonings I can have.  He even went back to get a piece of paper to write out a list and then brought me the plate himself.  When I said the pasta was not quite right without tomatoes he took the plate back and added sauteed tomatoes.  The buttered pasta and herbs with mushrooms and tomatoes was so delicious I will have to see if I can figure out how to make it at home.  The mixed greens in my salad were nice, fresh and succulent with vinegar and oil.  The multi-grain rolls were twisted in a pleasing manor with texture and flavor that may cause cravings for more.

My husband ordered an Angus Bacon Cheese Burger witch he devoured with great pleasure and we both came to agree that ‘Slate’ and her staff deserve at least 4 out of 5 stars. I should also point out that my frugal husband did say the meal was worth the price we paid.  It’s a little more expensive than a chain restaurant, but it really is not bad price wise.

From The Poet’s Mouth,

Lyda Mae Dameron

You can contact The Poet and her friends by e-mailing (ravendove922@yahoo.com)

One response to “Poet At large Reviews, Restaurant, Provo Marriott Hotel and Convention Center Restaurant, ‘Slate’

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was good to see you at LTU&E. I’m very impressed with your restaurant experience at the hotel. Very few places will offer that kind of personal attention. I must say that all our experience at the Provo Marriott were very positive. Kudos to the hotel staff.

Leave a Reply

