Poet At Large Reviews, Book, The Nine Lives of Chloe King   Leave a comment

I am an independent reviewer, and am dependent on the library to get my hands on titles I review a good deal of the time.  On my last trip to the library I went wondering and had a title pop out at me off the shelves in the teen section.  The Nine Lives of Chloe King by Liz Braswell  the book says it’s an ABC family series, but I have never watched it.  The book I found is a trilogy under one cover.  The story some times racy for a family series.

It all starts when a Girl named Chloe falls of a tower and survives.  She then starts experiencing weird things like heightened senses and grows claws that she can retract to make her hands look normal when she is not upset.  Then she finds herself hunted by crazed killers.  In the second book she learns that she is a Mai which I’m fairly certain is pronounced the same as Mau which is a cat breed that is suppose to look closest to the first domestic cats from Egypt.  The Mai are suppose to be the direct descendants of Bastet and Sekhmet, The cat goddesses of Egypt and under some powerful curse that keeps them without a permanent place to settle.

The story is very involving and even thought the book is three novels in one I finished it in a very short time.  Though I have two complaints.

The first is that the writer refers to a Bat mitzvah and gets a few details wrong.  The Bat mitzvah is a Jewish coming of age for a young girl and though it is like a Bar mitzvah it happens at 12 not 13.  Girls come of age one year earlier.  Also she has the girl receive a Bastet necklace as a Bat mitzvah gift.  That is so not an acceptable gift.  Has Liz Braswell never heard of the Golden Calf in the wilderness episode.  A Egyptian goddess for a religious coming of age for a religion that forbids Idols?  Sorry the necklace may be important to the story but the way the girl gets it just does not fit.

The other nitpick I have is the in the first book Braswell has a man end up hurt and the order set to destroy the Mai clearly mention him, but at the end of the third they act as if they do not even know he exists.  There is no context for deniability at that moment, they should know about what happened to him.

I do recommend the book for a read if you can get past those nit picks.  I will be looking for the series on the internet.  The book was published in 2004 so it might be on Hulu or Netflix.  If I find the series I will post a review of it as well.

From The Poet’s mouth,

Lyda Mae Dameron

Leave a Reply

